Board of Director’s Meeting

December 17, 2007


CALL TO ORDER:  President Steve Sulzby called the meeting to order at 6:07 pm.  Members present were:  Steve Sulzby, John Killian, Carol Murakoshi, Donna Wenberg, Sue Fardette, Irma Johnson, and Diane Sachs.  Mark Tang and Jan Wagner were absent.  Frank Bartlett and Barbara Balowitz were excused.


MINUTES:  The minutes of the last meeting were approved as read.


TREASURER’S REPORT: Read and approved at the General Meeting on Dec. 9, 2007.


CORRESPONDENCE:  Donna Wenberg reported that a card was sent to Ron Amy who was hospitalized.  A card will be sent to Tony and Miranda, (NLM players) who got married recently.  Steve reported that Baum Harris, a co-owner of the L.B. Bridge Center complimented the board for a “smooth running” year.


HOSPITALITY:   Barbara Balowitz collected $525.00 from the Charity Box for the Women’s Shelter.  Donna made a motion to have the unit donate the total gross proceeds ($756.00) from the December 9th Charity Game to the Women’s Shelter.  Irma seconded, motion carried.  Steve spoke to Rand Pinsky and commented that the $4,000.00 from ACBL-District 23 is still pending.  However, the paperwork and responsibilities have been completed.


SANCTIONS:    Irma Johnson reported that the sanctions for the 1st three unit games of 2008 have been completed:  January 13th, February 10th, & March 9th.


REFRESHMENTS:  Donna Wenberg and Diane Sachs will coordinate the January 13th luncheon.  The February Unit game will be a potluck and John Killian and friend will take care of the March Unit game.




IN COORDINATOR: Steve Sulzby reported that the attendance at the Tuesday afternoon NLM lectures hasn’t been as well attended as prior weeks.  He will resume as IN Coordinator next year.  Several NLM players have requested added lessons where they would compensate Steve.


MEMBERSHIP:    Irma Johnson reported the latest In & Out stats from ACBL for the period 10-31-07 through 12-1-07. 

                                    Total Members                                453

                                    Members receiving Bulletin 395

                                    Rookie                                                  39

                                    Junior Master                           35

                                    Club Master                                         43

                                    Sectional Master                                 63

                                    Regional Master                                  63

                                    NABC Master                                      46

                                    Life Master                                           28

                                    Bronze Life Master                             62

                                    Silver Life Master                                52

                                    Gold Life Master                                 18

                                    Diamond Life Master                            4

There were no new members and four reinstatements.  There was one transfer in and one transfer out.  Both may have been errors, which Irma will check into. There was one relevant change:  Donna Wenberg became Silver Life Master.


AWARDS: It was suggested that the order of medallions be replaced with some other token of success, which will be further discussed at a future meeting. 

ROSTER:   Jan Wagner will work on this project this month and hopefully report back at the next meeting.


OLD BUSINESS:  Sectional:  John Killian reported that the Ad from the Contract Bridge Forum was missing.  The Profit standing from the Sectional is $2,209.00.


NEW BUSINESS:  Steve Sulzby accepted nominations of 2008 officers of the Board from the floor:  The following have been nominated:

President:  Steve Sulzby                         Vice President:  Sue Fardette

Secretary:  Diane Sachs                          Treasurer:  Donna Wenberg

The Board accepted the nominations.

President Steve Sulzby assigned Committee Chairpersons for 2008:

Hospitality/Charity Co-Chairs: Barbara Balowitz & Sharon Beran

Membership Co-Chairs:  Irma Johnson & Donna Wenberg

Awards Co-Chairs:  Frank Bartlett & Fern Dunbar

Roster:  Bernard Mann

IN Coordinators:  Steve Sulzby & Mark Tang

Sectional Co-chairs:  John Killian & Mark Tang

Refreshments:  Linda Carder

Publicity Co-chairs:  Sue Fardette & John Killian

Carol Murakoshi will look for a place to have our annual Board dinner in January 2008.  She will reserve a place and report back to the Board via e-mail or phone.


ADJOURNMENT:  The meeting was adjourned at 7:00 pm.  The next monthly meeting will be on Monday, January 14, 2007.

Carol Murakoshi, Secretary